often more difficult once known

I.

we know
your shoes

in between
we listen

to weather
storms and

dozens of
strides since

you’ve gone
far from

real reach
outside memory

II.

I’ve curated
efficiencies

I’ve maddenned
my perspective

all in one
person

I call
these my nerves

I’m trying
from the heart

to communicate
the correct method

to raise
a lot of

sunken ships
all at once

while letting the bones
remain at rest

III.

the practice of using
a poster child

to mean
myself

applies to
the previous examples

only when
it does

IV.

yes, perhaps the process
is painless

or, perhaps you misunderstand
what pain really is

in common
parlance

you can’t go beyond
the intolerable

is disproved
every day

and has always
been disproved

from our
very first cry

to what will be
our last strand

our last step
in our last shoes

when we at last
have learned to listen

to the silence
in between

our strides
getting shorter

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

