Reflecting Odd (Light To See [One Day] My Very Best Wish)

Question: When I tell people their jaws drop, they can’t believe that is the subject of an opera. Was there a libretto?

Answer: The presence is an aesthetic necessity.

Q: How such a monster?

A: Love.

Q: Lots of narcissistic verbal abuse. Intentional?

A: This is the function of scenes of tragic error.

Q: Many have a circumscribed elegy. You knew?

A: I did not know (yet). I have been trying to.

Q: To what extent have you vampiric qualities?

A: Deeply, in the background, without murders, without war – a general to the major in his course.

Q: Is there any justification?

A: None.

Q: Is art so great?

A: No.

Q: How do you feel in a grand house?

A: Designed to the perfect size.

Q: Why?

A: I’m happy people.

Q: The last one. You see?

A: I am old, yet I would like to see one day my very best wish.


blackout composition, source: “Reflecting on his ‘old, odd’ opera,” by David Patrick Stearns, The Philadelphia Inquirer, 3/12/12, pp. C1, C4.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

