I Tempt You With Polenta

I tempt you with polenta.
I tempt you with green beans.
I tempt you with the juice from a can of creamed corn
That I’ve strained through screens.

I tempt you with Michael Strahan.
I tempt you with Omarosa.
I tempt you with Simon Cowell
By way of Mario Vargas Llosa.

I tempt you with Moby Dick.
I tempt you with someone’s other white whale behemoth.
I tempt you with the steamed pork dumpling
The cook at Schezuan Hunan steameth.

I tempt you with platform heels.
I tempt you with platform diving.
I tempt you with a cursed restaurant location
That as a parking lot is thriving.

I tempt you with uncommon knowledge.
I tempt you with ultraviolet rays.
I tempt you with a tiny dog house
Full of little tiny strays.

I tempt you with bright colors.
I tempt you with assorted sizes.
I tempt you with mega-lottery tickets
With multi-million dollar prizes.

I tempt you with a brush.
I tempt you with a broom.
I tempt you with a spaghetti flag
woven on some grandma’s loom.

I tempt you with an argument.
I tempt you with negotiation.
I tempt you with the theme from Shaft –
The apotheosis of Blaxploitation.

I tempt you with a comment.
I tempt you with a look.
I tempt you with a Tom Waits growl,
But you only want Facebook.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

