Poem for Bongo (in the Style of Joe “The Guy With the Bongo”)

Once I was a tree.
Yeah, once I was a tree.
Oh, once I was a tree,
But they cut me down.
Oh, they cut me down.
Yeah, they cut me down.

They turned me into a chair.
And when I was a chair,
Yeah, when I was a chair,
Oh, when I was a chair
I just sat around.
Oh, I just sat around.

Until they decided
Until they decided
Until one day THEY decided
This chair doesn’t fit the room anymore.
This chair’s too out of style.
This chair’s too old a chair to be any good.

And when they used me for kindling.
And when they used me for kindling.
And when they used me for kindling.
I didn’t make a sound.
No, I didn’t make a sound.
No, I didn’t make a sound.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

