The Exterminator

and I am in the brown brick office
and I am in the yellow-walled hall
and I am looking up at the white plastic jug on the shelf
and I am looking at the black hose coming out of the jug’s top
and I am looking at the orange wand and nozzle
and I am thinking I am looking at insecticide
and I am taking the white jug down
and I am carrying the white jug by its grey handle
and I am walking down the blue and orange carpet
and I am among the blue-grey cubes
and I am among my workmates in their blue-grey cubes
and I am aiming the nozzle at my workmates’ feet
and I am telling them “they asked me to do this”
and I am telling them “please, lift up your feet”
and I am telling them “relax, I think it’s just some kind of poison”
and I am telling them “sorry, but this really needs to be done”
and I am telling them “just a little more”
and I am telling them “I’ll just be a little longer”
and I am telling them “I think I may have missed a spot”
and I am telling them “yes, right there where it’s not wet yet”
and I am telling them “I’m told you have to be thorough with things like this”
and I am telling them “I hope this solves all of your problems”
and I am walking out of the door of the brown brick office and into the door
            of the other office which is also in the brown-brick office
and I am telling the receptionist “they asked me to do this”
and I am listening to her telling the person on the other end of the phone
            “the exterminator is here”
and I am smiling at her as I am asking her “why is it you think I am the exterminator?”
and I am smiling as she says “I think it’s your hair”
and I am sitting down on a black chair
and I am noticing not even a minute has passed

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. wow!!! You have an incredible vision of words my friend. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

