a cure for so empty

I used
indifference
as a cure for
never being wanted
strength as a cure for
weakness
growth to hide
my being stunted

the half-truths of my slanted sight
to pierce through
willful blindness
a place at the vanguard
to cure
my left behindness

eight balloons as a cure for
never ever having flown
nine postcards as a cure for
having nothing of my own

I kept going
to reverse
troubled stops at the wrong place
donned fancy masks
to remedy the sameness
of my face

I keep rowing
further inland
to deny the sea
but I won’t swallow
just anything
as a cure for
so empty

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

