What’s That Prove (Yeah, Man)? – (from “Songs That Will Never Be Recorded”)

I’ll take love
less the world
I’ll take doves
less their wings
I’ll stuff them with
spent chewing gum
serve them with
pineapple rings

but what’s that prove
(yeah, man)
what’s that prove?

I’ll take forks
less their tines
I’ll take storks
less their beaks
I’ll invent a new
modern language
where to talk nobody speaks

but what’s that prove
(yeah, man)
what’s that prove?

I’ll stitch a cape of wonder
I’ll stuff it with thunder
I’ll radiate like fire
I’ll wrap my mind in wire

I’ll take sleeves
less their shirts
I’ll take leaves
less their trees
I’ll win the Nobel Prize
for making
all volcanoes freeze

but what’s that prove
(yeah, man)
what’s that prove?

I’ll write stories
less the letters
I’ll right Lauries
less their sweaters
I’ll make a giant
ball of cheese
made solely of cheddars

but what’s that prove
(yeah, man)
what’s that prove?

I’ll make a gentler toaster
I’ll surf a roller-coaster
I’ll float like cloudy skies
I’ll fall out of your eyes

I’ll take love
less the world
I’ll take doves
less their wings
I’ll stuff them with
spent chewing gum
serve them with
pineapple rings

but what’s that prove
(yeah, man)
what’s that prove?

but what’s that prove
(yeah, man)
what’s that prove?


This one sounds to me very much like “And Your Bird Can Sing” by the Beatles

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

